Ways to Engage Students Part II

In my last post, I included an infographic of responses a teacher may use during instruction to motivate and engage an off-task student. I recently found another relevant picture that provides some proactive strategies teachers can use to prevent off-task behavior all together. It focuses on engaging all of the different modes of learning we may find in our students such as audio, visual, kinesthetic or social. During internship, I  used a few of these strategies without realizing it, however I would have found it helpful to have this explicit information beforehand so that I would have been able to consciously integrate all of these aspects during my planning. I am excited to try these strategies when I begin teaching!

 

Leave a Reply

