Growing as an Educator through 21st Century Teaching

Throughout my engagement with technology, I have come a long way. However, I know that there is still room for improvement. On pinterest, I found another infographic (surprise!) on actions teachers can take to become better educators and leaders of students in the 21st century.

So far, my journey using technology for learning purposes has led me to THINK beyond the classroom, BECOME aware of other good teachers, CAPTURE what students are learning through documentation, PRACTICE using technology before doing it in the classroom, use SOCIAL MEDIA to connect with others and add a GAMING element to learning. I realize that while these are notable changes, they only take place at the classroom level.

The skills  that I want to expand on are when I begin teaching are  INCLUDING world in learning, LOOKING for ways to involve the community, HAVING a cause where students can engage in social responsibility and INCORPORATING parents into learning. If you view my Major Project/Unit Sample, I think that it includes some of these attributes, although I have yet to try this with a class.

Please comment if you can think of any other notable skills/attributes of a 21st century teacher!

One thought on “Growing as an Educator through 21st Century Teaching

  1. Pingback: Are we ready for this? | warped-mind_education

Leave a Reply

